Located on New York City’s Museum Mile, the Jewish Museum is a jewel-box of an art museum, and a distinctive hub for art and Jewish culture for people of all backgrounds.
Our Memphis ties to this treasure run deep. Longtime Memphis business leader and philanthropist Ira A. Lipman is a former board member and his son, Gustave K. Lipman, now represents the family on the board of directors.
This beautiful museum – a gift for all who visit – is now a gift to the Memphis Jewish community.
Through the Lipmans’ generosity, any member of the Memphis Jewish community can visit the museum free of charge. For your free tickets to the Jewish Museum, simply call our own Courtney Shemper at 901-767-7100 or send an email to email@example.com. Tickets will be available until depleted, which won’t happen overnight, so make sure to check in with Courtney before your next visit to the city.
The Museum maintains a unique collection of nearly 30,000 works of fine art, Judaica, antiquities, folk art, ceremonial objects, and broadcast media which reflect the global Jewish experience over more than 4,000 years. Their distinguished exhibition history reveals a deep and rich exploration of Jewish culture and identity, and includes some of the most seminal exhibitions of the 20th and 21st centuries. The Museum also offers dynamic education programs – from talks and lectures, to performances, to hands-on art making and more – which serve a wide range of audiences, including families, students, educators, and art lovers.
Two new temporary exhibits open in November, one exploring the architecture of Pierre Chareau, a French designer credited with building France’s first steel and glass house, the Maison de Verre, and another which will see an entry in the Museum’s long-running Using Walls, Floors, and Ceilings series, this time featuring a commissioned piece by Los Angeles artist Alex Israel.
In 1944, Frieda Schiff Warburg, widow of the prominent businessman and philanthropist Felix Warburg, who had been a Seminary trustee, donated the family mansion at 1109 Fifth Avenue at 92nd Street to the Seminary for use as a museum. Located along New York City’s Museum Mile, and designed in the French Gothic chateau-style by architect Charles P.H. Gilbert, the original building was completed in 1908, and has been the home of the Museum since 1947.
Seasoned museum-goes know that wandering the galleries of any great museum builds up a mighty hunger and thirst. Luckily, a storied New York Jewish food purveyor can be found within the Jewish Museum.
After 102 years on the Lower East Side, Russ & Daughters, the landmark New York City appetizing shop on East Houston Street, has opened a new location inside the Museum — a kosher 70-seat, sit-down restaurant and a take-out appetizing counter on the Museum’s lower level.
Offering the highest quality smoked fish, bagels, and traditional baked goods, the Russ family for four generations has owned and operated Russ & Daughters since 1914. The restaurant offers a selection of classic appetizing foods drawn from the original Russ & Daughters shop as well as the Russ & Daughters Cafe, including: smoked fish platters, bagels and bialys, knishes, herring, salads, soups, egg creams, and classic desserts such as babka. The appetizing take-out counter offers traditional smoked fish and spreads by the pound, as well as bagel sandwiches.